Transformation Prelude: The Cake’s In the Oven

I love the phrase “The cake’s in the oven.”  Not a darn thing you can do to make that cake bake to its best any faster.

This concept comes up a lot in appointments with clients about some part of their life – my work’s not the point of this blog.  But, what I hear that relates to the ‘cake’ is: “It’s taking so long!”  “What am I doing wrong?”  “It hasn’t come together.”  And, “Maybe I’m not good enough to…”

We’re all waiting on a cake – of some kind. I don’t care who you are, or what you do. If you are a writer, filmmaker, director, screenwriter, plumber, banker, gardener, salesperson, someone searching for some kind of fulfillment. We all wait on the cake.

If we rush the cake, its flavor may suffer from poor composition.  If we turn up the heat, it may get burned.  If we often open up the door of the oven to check on it, we slow its progress. If we take it out too early, it tastes like batter.

This is the great risk for any writer, filmmaker – even a seeker of love.  We rush the deal, the career, the publishing; we pinch, we look, we insist – the ART, the DREAM.  What we don’t realize is that as soon as we’ve conceived something and brought it into this world, it is orbiting around some planet in some solar system, that has to do much more with Itself than with us.  And yet, we act as if we can control it.

Enter the cake. The cake is the project, the intention.  Can we give it the time it needs in our head, in a drawer, in the mail, on a desk, in discussion, in production, in printing, in editing, in uploading – in time?   Can we wait with our blessings?

If we opt to wait and let it do its thing, then that work of ART, that realized DREAM will be the best version of Itself that you can deliver, like a midwife out into the world – whether viewed by only you, or by millions.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. krissnp
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 04:06:21

    How true!

    Reply

  2. S.K. Epperson
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 13:41:47

    Sorry, I can’t resist, just let me get this out of my system: “I don’t think that I can take it… ’cause it took so long to bake it… and I’ll never have that recipe again… Oh nooooo!” A nostalgic Mr. Bill in MacArthur Park moment. Okay, seriously. I love this analogy because I am one of the worst in the world for rushing things into production and firing things off and speeding through the details only to have my hands grabbed by Fortuna and shoved under my ass where I’m told to sit. So, while I’m sitting on my hands and gritting my teeth at how slooooowwww everything moves and how loooonnnggg everything takes, along comes something like a Mercury retrograde in which I’m inspired to look over everything I rushed, fired and sped through, and wouldn’t you know it, there is a cake but the toothpick inserted into the middle comes out with baking powder on it. The flour wasn’t sifted, there are bits of eggshell and dang, I left out the pinch of salt. Now I know why I’ll never have that recipe again. It sucked. Cakes 101, courtesy of the time purported to always be on our side (until it moves to our hips.) Thank you, Katherine for reminding me, and all of us, to practice patience.

    Reply

  3. Jennie B
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 16:06:50

    Yes! What a great comparison! Every time I’m wondering why my book doesn’t just get finished I think of sweet wonderful cake and remember it takes time to come out just right.

    Reply

  4. lynmidnight
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 20:19:28

    Great metaphor! But it somehow reminds me of Dr. Seuss’ waiting room. You know.. the place where everybody waits for something. I guess that’s the moment where the cake’s long overdue but you keep waiting before you take it out… if you ever do it at all. It’s all good brain food for tonight. Keep writing, friend. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Productivity « belovedalene

Leave a Reply

